Foggy assessment

Odd week. Two and a half days were lost at the beginning,and as well as the usual pain, my favourite M.E. symptom had a little party. Brain fog is an odd, but perfectly descriptive term; for me it’s the most upsetting aspect of this illness. I can’t speak, think,read,or follow a simple TV programme.Not ideal for writing coherently .  Or living coherently, to be honest. I’m guessing it is a result (or punishment?) of being so productive over the last couple of weeks.

Anyway, things have become a little more normal in the brain department, so obviously, I’ve completely overworked it again. I had results for my final assignment this week, I’m incredibly pleased with the feedback I had, and feel I produced some good work.

The Art of Poetry has been a difficult course  for me, I’ve been frustrated by my initial lack of technical knowledge, terrified of delving in to my emotions and bamboozled by the obscurity that seems to be required. Despite this, I finish the course invigorated, I’m excited to be writing poetry again, and to be writing poetry that I am happy with. As are others, which is always a bonus. Or indeed,the point.

The downside of finishing the course is that it is time for formal assessment. This is the bit that gets me a degree. Now, I have no interest in getting a qualification, I have degrees,diplomas ncfes, cipds,wkrps, galore. I began to study in order to become a better writer. This is happening,so I don’t have to undertake the assessment. However, I cannot resist the challenge of creating a beautifully presented folder of my work. Perhaps it concludes the course. Perhaps it feeds my love of stationery. Perhaps it fulfills a deeply buried  need to spend hours trying to organise page numbers. Who knows. The main thing is, it’s nearly finished, which means I can get back to actually writing. Once I’ve tried out a few different styles of header and footer……

wp-1485502601521.jpg

4 thoughts on “Foggy assessment

Add yours

  1. Well done. Art of Poetry was a revelation for me too. I can’t believe how much I learned – about myself as much as poetry. You are doing a sterling job managing this as well as horrible debilitating ME symptoms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

